Yummiest Whole Grain Waffles

April 21, 2008 at 5:05 pm (*) (, , )

If you missed my heathiest pancakes, click here.

These are absolutely the best waffles ever.  I make them at least every week and a half.  Pretty sure I’m going to have to get a new waffle maker soon.  *hint hint*

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/3 cup coconut flour (adds fiber!!)
  • 2/3 cup oats
  • squeeze of agave nectar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup oil (olive, grapeseed, avocado, etc…)
  • **optional ingredients: unsweetened coconut, pecans or walnuts, and flax meal or wheat germ

 

Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl.  In another medium bowl, whisk eggs lightly, then add milk and liquid oil.  Meanwhile, melt the coconut oil (I usually stick the entire jar in the oven, which I set to “broil”).  Add wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, then add the coconut oil.  Do not overmix.  Make waffles!!!!

As with the pancakes, instead of regular syrup, we use half agave nectar and half pure maple syrup.  Trust me…the result is SOOOO much better.  I do try to add pecans and flax meal every time.  Omega-3’s baby!  And since Benjamin isn’t big on pecans, it’s a great way to hide them.  The kids LOVE them.

Hope you enjoy!

2 Comments

  1. Brandi said,

    I make pancakes pretty much every Sunday morning, and I LOVE to add unsweetened coconut and walnuts. Glad to see you blogging so much now!!! I am probably going to steal some of your healthy blogroll sites to put on mine. Hope you don’t mind!

  2. Staci said,

    Steal as many as you like. There will be more to come as I clean out my “favorites” and put them here!

    By the way, it’s live now, so feel free to change your link!

Leave a Reply

