Tayveon Feenstra

June 17, 2008 at 4:39 pm (*) ()

I feel such an urgency to post this, so please excuse the rambling or spelling errors.

A good friend of mine from middle school and high school, David Emmelkamp, needs your prayer right now.  They just found out that his little boy, Tayveon, who is 4, has a tumor behind his eye.  In the last few days, they learned that his sight is gone from that eye and that the tumor, and possibly his eye, will have to be removed.  They rushed to Mayo Clinic in Rochester and were told today that the tumor may be cancerous.  Additionally, it may have gotten to his other eye and his optic nerve.  If I understand correctly from his sister’s update, if it is cancerous and has reached his optic nerve, it is terminal and very aggressive.  They will not have any answers until tomorrow, when Tayveon has surgery.

Please pray for this little boy and his family.  I know I’ve been guilty of deleting the emails, skipping the forwards where you are asked to urgently pray for so-and-so, or such-and-such, and you don’t even know them.  Our human nature is to push this aside and disconnect ourselves.  I am asking you on a personal note to say a prayer for this little boy.  Pray fervently.  God hears, no matter how long or short your prayer.  He hears one prayer.  He hears them all.  The power of prayer is a real thing, and this little boy needs your prayer.  David and his wife, Kelli, need your prayers.

I could write about how God is in control and He knows exactly what will happen, etc…  Right now, just pray.

As an FYI, David grew up in the Belgrade/Amsterdam area, and attended Belgrade High School.  His parents are Keith and Karen Emmelkamp and they attended the Belgrade Alliance Church.  That may ring a bell for a few of you…

Please just take a minute.

 ***I have to add this, because it’s so fitting and because I relate so many times and areas of my life to music.

Tonight, as I was putting my children to bed, we were laying on the bed listening to the ipod.  After the usual songs of “The Star Spangled Banner” and “You Raise Me Up” and “You’re My Little Girl”, the next song began and I nearly lost it.  Four and a half years ago, Jarid and I held each other and sobbed as we listened to”He’s My Son” by Mark Schultz.  At the time, we had just come home from the hospital, without Benjamin.  He was laying in the NICU, hooked up to all the wires, so innocent and helpless.  I had heard the song before and was going to put it on the cd to take with me to the hospital, but I thought it was such a sad song, so I skipped it.  I had no idea how relevant and comforting it would actually be to me.
Now it’s so much more relevant for someone else.
                      ****
He’s My Son by Mark Schultz
I’m down on my knees again tonight,
I’m hopin’ this prayer will turn out right.
See, there is a boy that needs Your help.
I’ve done all that I can do myself
His mother is tired,
I’m sure You can understand.
Each night as he sleeps
She goes in to hold his hand,
And she tries
Not to cry
As the tears fill her eyes.

Can You hear me?
Am I getting through tonight?
Can You see him?
Can You make him feel all right?
If You can hear me
Let me take his place some how.
See, he’s not just anyone, he’s my son.

Sometimes late at night I watch him sleep,
I dream of the boy he’d like to be.
I try to be strong and see him through,
But God, who he needs right now is You.
Let him grow old,
Live life without this fear.
What would I be
Living without him here?
He’s so tired,
And he’s scared
Let him know that You’re there.

Can You hear me?
Am I getting through tonight?
Can You see him?
Can You make him feel all right?
If You can hear me
Let me take his place some how.
See, he’s not just anyone, he’s my son.

Can You hear me?
Am I getting through tonight?
Can You see him?
Can You make him feel all right?
If You can hear me
Let me take his place somehow.
See, he’s not just anyone.

Can You hear me?
Can You see him?
Please don’t leave him,
He’s my son.

 

Click here to listen/watch on YouTube.

1 Comment

  1. Kelly T said,

    oh, sweet Tayveon….my heart is aching for this little boy and their family….we will be praying….please update us as soon as you know…..sooooo hard.

Leave a Reply

