Monday Madness

August 11, 2008 at 1:35 pm (*)

Not much to report this week.

1. I have discovered forgotten what an Olympic addict I am.  Since they started a few days ago, the tv stays on those channels.  I’m really not sure what it is about the games that is so addicting to me, but I love watching and cheering.  I suppose most of it is just that I am super-patriotic and the Olympic games evoke such a spirit of patriotism.  No matter which sport it is, if the USA wins gold, you can expect to see me glued to the tv during the medal ceremony, typically with tears in my eyes.  And, even though it won’t be shown on tv, we have a friend participating in the Olympics.  Jamie is the girlfriend of one of Jarid’s best friends from high school and she is on the USA Shooting team.  Yay Jamie!!

2. We went to the zoo this morning.  We got there at 7:30 this morning and by 8:00, we were all a bit sticky.  Since it’s hot, there isn’t much excitment amongst the animals.  That makes for pretty bored kiddos, which translates into a short visit.  It wasn’t a wasted trip though…kids got to feed some birds, play in the treehouse play area, ride the carousel, and Benjamin got another bloody nose!

3.  This is my last week before my transfer at work.  Even though I can’t wait to get out of there, it’s heavy on my heart that I need to continue to show grace through to the end.  Long story, but it’s not a fun place to work right now.  So that is my prayer this week, grace.

4.  In addition to the Olympics, I’ve been closely following the progress of Steven Curtis Chapman and his family as they deal with their recent tragedy.  If you want a glimpse of God’s love, grace, and mercy in action, these are the people to watch.  Last week, Good Morning America aired their interview with the Chapman family and a few days later, CNN aired their interview with Larry King (be sure to watch all six clips).  Grab your kleenex before you watch.  I enjoyed the Larry King Live piece more, because it actually was live, and therefore, more candid.  They were not able to edit out Jesus’ name, unlike the GMA piece.  Be watching for the People Magazine spread featuring the Chapmans.  I cannot even begin to fathom their pain, but it is amazing to see how God is using this to advance His kingdom.

Much love…

2 Comments

  1. Kelly T said,

    SO…what did you think of the opening ceremonies?! Did you watch them in HD? CRAZY good. putting all politics aside, it was an amazing show. What did ya think? I agree its fun to watch them, especially as a family and get Lacy all charged up cheering everyone on! I have to take breaks as I get burnt out though!:) Have a good one.

  2. Brandi said,

    The Olympics are on??

Leave a Reply

