Kinda Puts Things Into Perspective…

August 15, 2008 at 3:32 pm (*)

There are times when I’ve been tempted to wallow in self-pity over the last few months.  It’s hard to imagine having to cater to a special diet for the rest of my life.  It’s hard to deal with the stigmas attached to that diet.  It’s hard to explain to everyone why we are doing it, especially without any supervision from a doctor.

But while I was pouting about a diet, she was facing a life-threatening disease.

While I was irritated at the stigmas of a diet, she was imagining the looks she’ll get when she loses her hair.

While I was tired of explaining our reasoning to everyone, she was in surgery, having both breasts removed.

Yep, while I was wallowing in self-pity, she was getting ready to tackle breast cancer.  At age 34.

Kinda puts it all into perspective.

Kirsten is a wonderful gal I worked with when I first started my job.  We kept in touch when she moved on to another job, and I even housesat for her when we were still living with Jarid’s parents.  She has said she is an open book and wants to share her story, so visit www.kirstendebie.blogspot.com to read her story.

Please keep her and Eric and Aidan in your prayers.

Kirsten, you are amazing.

Leave a Reply

