Monday Madness

September 8, 2008 at 6:57 am (*)

1.  For the last week and a half, there is one item that has been absent from our shopping list: diapers!!  Without much effort on our part, Kaiya is pretty much potty-trained.  Through the night.  Number 1 and 2!!!  She has only had a couple of accidents, and I’m sure there will be a few more, but she is otherwise done with diapers.  I’m not sure if she just got sick of diapers or if it was the threat that only “big girls” get to have fun birthday parties… 🙂  Honestly, I don’t care if it means no more diapers!!!

2. I’ve been working out at the gym for the past week and I am sore.  Good sore, but sore.  It’s nice to work out in an air-conditioned gym, rather than running outside where it’s hot and muggy.

3. We purchased our tickets to fly to Colorado for Christmas.  I really can’t tell you how ecstatic I am.  The kids and I will be staying an extra two days, so hopefully the flight back won’t be too much of a disaster.  Before a gfcf diet, there is not a chance in the world I would have thought about flying with two kiddos by myself.  Now, it will be a little hectic, but manageable.  Benjamin will be a wonderful helper!

4. I’ve decided that our kitchen needs a massive makeover.  I’m not sure who’s going to pay for it, but it would be nice!  With a new diet, I spend so much time in the kitchen and it’s just not set up well for that.  The appliances are old and inefficient, the counters are too low for someone who is 5’9″ (read:constant backache), the cupboards are inefficient, the pantry is too small (we keep a LOT of dried goods and bulk foods), and the floor is awful.  Yeah, a kitchen makeover won’t be happening anytime soon, but it’s fun to dream.  And I’ll be thankful that I have a kitchen! 🙂

That’s all for today.

2 Comments

  1. Uncle Arlen said,

    Well, flibbity floo! Back in my day, our momma cooked over an old wood stove that was only 3 feet high, hauled all our water into the house in 5 gal buckets, from a cattle watering trough that was over 100 yards from the house. She had to chop her own wood and haul by hand too. And on top of that she did it all in the dingy light of a kerosene lantern hanging from a nail on the ceiling. The trouble with you young whipper snappers is that you’re spoiled rotten. (Hope you know I’m kiddin!) Love you!

    ***Feisty thing now, aren’t you?? 🙂 Ya know, I’d honestly prefer to do things the way it used to be done. So much simpler. We’ve made things so complicated that we just can’t function. And yes, we ARE spoiled!!! Especially Daddy’s Girls… 🙂

  2. Brandi said,

    I am happy to say that Shiloh is finally potty trained, too. Mostly does everything by herself. I am not as brave as you are though. I am not ready to give up Pull-ups at night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

