One year later….

November 27, 2008 at 9:31 pm (*)

I can’t believe it’s been exactly (well, sort of) a year since we moved into this house.  Thanksgiving day of 2007 was nearly a blur amidst the unloading of a U-haul and probably my tears over watching the Lord’s hand work in our lives.  (You can read the whole story here)

One thing that stands out to me about that day, though, was how frustrated I was with Benjamin…and everything he ate.  I didn’t want him to have any food, because none of it was good enough, I just didn’t know why…

This year, we ate a delicious Thanksgiving dinner, and it was all gluten and casein free.  There were a couple of extra “regular” dishes, but the gfcf stuff was so yummy, I didn’t even try any!  Benjamin and Kaiya loved everything: turkey (yeah, the $30 12 lb turkey), wild rice with gravy, stuffing, pumpkin pie…the whole shebang.

Ahhhh…

So much to be thankful for this year.  Even though the transmission just went out on our new(er) car, my job isn’t bringing in enough money to make ends meet, and it costs a lot of money to eat gluten/casein free…..  We have 3 other vehicles to use while we figure out what to do with the car.  Jarid’s basketball season just started and he’s already got a full schedule, so that’s extra money we can definitely use.

Mostly, this year, I’m thankful that Benjamin is doing amazingly well on this diet.  It brings me to tears to think how far we’ve come with him, and how our friends and family have supported us in this whole endeavor.  Even our friends and family that don’t understand or don’t necessarily agree have been such a source of strength and encouragement.  I still have days that I wonder if it’s worth it to keep going, but all it takes is one smile from Benjamin or a pat on the back to keep me going.

I really wish you all could be here to see the difference.

We tried raw cheese this morning.

I’ll keep you posted on the outcome.

We love you all and hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

1 Chronicles 29:11-13

 

Yours, O LORD, is the greatness and the power 
       and the glory and the majesty and the splendor, 
       for everything in heaven and earth is yours. 
       Yours, O LORD, is the kingdom; 
       you are exalted as head over all.

Wealth and honor come from you; 
       you are the ruler of all things. 
       In your hands are strength and power 
       to exalt and give strength to all.

Now, our God, we give you thanks, 
       and praise your glorious name.

Leave a Reply

