Affirmation

December 1, 2008 at 2:36 pm (*) (, )

Turns out dairy is not such a good idea for Benjamin yet.  The peacefulness we experienced on Thursday and Friday quickly disappeared on Saturday.  I guess it was the calm before the storm.

Saturday afternoon, when I got home from work, it was like someone had flipped a switch with Ben.  It’s really hard to describe, but really, it’s like a child on drugs.  Really.  I promise.

His speech deteriorates, his eyes get wide and glazed over, he loses the ability to discern whether or not we are teasing with him (which we do often), he gets super-duper hyper and more aggressive, he makes incessant noise, and suddenly thinks he cannot do anything for himself.  Among other things.

What a downer.  I had been so hopeful.

But I’m going to choose to be thankful.  I really am.  Okay, I’m going to try.  And trust that the Holy Spirit will work (extra-supernaturally) in me to give me the strength and patience I need.

I am going to be thankful because all of this is just affirmation that we are doing the right thing.  It reaffirms to me that I’m not just some nut-job mom who says her kid has “dietary issues” (try to imagine me sarcastically holding up my fingers in quotes) to explain his behavior.  It reaffirms to me that my countless hours of reading and researching has not been in vain.

Mostly though, it’s affirmation that we should keep doing what we’re doing and keep pushing to get it all figured out.

We will.

Leave a Reply

