Monday Madness, a little late

January 14, 2009 at 7:51 pm (*)

1. Received a notice in the mail that we had 30 days to claim our abandoned vehicle.  I just hate it when I forget to drive my car home and instead, leave it parked on the side of some random road on the other side of town!  It turns out someone abandoned the “Crunchy Honda” and they show that it’s still registered to us, even though we traded it in at the Honda dealership.  Good thing I have proof of trade, otherwise we would have had to pay $938 (and counting!) in storage fees.

2. Found out why they use turmeric as a food colorant.  It colors everything, including tables and counters!  Turmeric is a yellow spice that contains curcumin, a known anti-inflammatory.  I’ve been adding it in wherever I can while cooking, but I guess I need to be a little more careful about splashes and spills!

3. Received notice for jury duty today.  While I absolutely don’t mind carrying out my civic duty, I’m a little bitter that I have to serve in the court that just issued me a speeding ticket!  Boo.

4. Started the process to register Benjamin for kindergarten.  It didn’t really occur to me that I needed to start looking at all of that until about a month ago.  I feel like it’s a half-hearted attempt, because I’d really rather register him for school in Colorado!!!  It’s a scary process, too, because there will be a lot to look at as far as his diet goes.  And there is an early intervention screening they do for us.  Should be interesting.

5. Feeling pretty restless and unsettled again.  Jarid and I are in constant prayer over the decisions we face in 2009, praying that we would remain in God’s will.  Of course, part of that prayer is that His will for our lives would include moving back to Colorado!

6.  Found a nice little Christian bookstore and tea shoppe today, not too far from our house.  Actually, it’s right by the school Benjamin is supposed to attend this fall.  They have a nice play area for kids and a fairly good selection of books.  They hold private tea parties and serve a wide variety of loose leaf teas.  Great atmosphere and nice ladies that own it.  I know that my coffee addition will mostly likely be broken with tea, so I’m sure I’ll spend quite a bit of time there. 🙂

7. Ben ate some licorice while we were in North Dakota, so we’re dealing with the fallout from that.  It was my fault that he got ahold of it.  Really, I may as well as shoved it in his mouth….left it right on his bed at bedtime.  My mom (God bless you, mom!!!), upon finding out, immediately started praying and had several others praying for Benjamin.  I’d say the Lord answers prayers because the reaction hasn’t been as severe as before.  Whew.

I’ll leave you with a few pictures from North Dakota.  I really, really miss the snow.  And small towns.  And grain mills.  🙂

1 Comment

  1. sara kay said,

    Dr P had me take bromelain and turmeric for sciatica when I was pregnant. I think I stained two different countertops, because I had to cut the caps in half. 🙂

    Sorry you’re doing the gluten thing this week…we have started praying when Hannah gets something too, and it’s no where near as bad when we do. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

