Random Thoughts

November 18, 2009 at 2:12 pm (*)

It’s been quite a while since I’ve updated and I don’t have a real update.  Just random thoughts floating around and this is such a good place to unload them!

First, let’s talk about reading the Bible.  In our 8 years of attending Calvary Chapel, one thing that has been drilled into our heads is that we must be reading through the Bible, from Genesis to Revelation.  Daily.  I don’t know about you, but I’ve tried.  Never succeeded (though I’m pretty sure I lied and said I did to win a game at AWANA once…sorry Mom!).  I usually stay on track until, um, Numbers?  That’s where it gets pretty bogged down with geneology and such.  No matter which “program” I tried, I just couldn’t do it.  I’d get bored, I’d forget, I’d skip a few days…then just quit.  Until now.  One day about 3 months ago, I was sitting mindlessly in front of the computer reading the blog of the wife of the worship leader at CC in Colorado Springs.  She mentioned the Bible reading system she uses and I was intrigued.  Turns out, this system is incredible.  If you do a search for Prof. G. Horner’s Bible Reading System, you will find instructions.  I’ll give you the basics here:

  • there are 10 lists, each with groups of books or a book from the Bible
  • each day, read one chapter from each list, in succession
  • when you get to the last chapter of the last book on the list, start over
  • getting through the longest list takes 250 days
  • Proverbs and Acts will be read almost once a month

The end.  It’s really that easy.  Now, I know that reading 10 chapters seems like a lot, but it’s not that bad.  I’m usually done in 20-25 minutes.  The best part is that I’m excited about reading my Bible!  There is so much more I could say, but you just need to check it out.

 

I read an article the other day in the Living Without magazine about genetic testing for celiac disease.  Basically, if you use a reputable laboratory, they will test for the presence of two genetic markers.  A positive result does not indicate that you have celiac, rather that the predisposition is there.  Additionally, a positive result is not a predictor of the likelihood of developing celiac.  However, the absence of these markers means the chance is low.  Here’s where it gets interesting: we’ve had genetic testing done on Benjamin.  I never really paid much attention to the results until now.  Going back and looking at them, he has both the genes that predisposes him to gluten sensitivity and celiac sprue, as well as the non-celiac gene that predisposes him to gluten sensitivity.  This means that both Jarid and I have at least one copy of the gluten sensitive gene.  Oh, how I wish I had the money to take the test for me and find out, once and for all!

 

And just a final random thought, spurred by a comment I had written in the margins of my Bible…Are there areas of your life where you are allowing the Lord to remove only part of the sin?  Are there areas of your life where you know you need to change, but refuse to do it 100% out of stubbornness?  I’ve been doing that for a while with food and such, refusing to give up my “must -haves”, even though I knew they were making me sick.   And that’s just food.  Think what sin can do to us!

Leave a Reply

